The 8-Point Scale

The default rating scale in Impraise is an 8 point scale. Both the color and the rating label can be customized by your organization’s admin in the settings. 

The pros of an 8-point scale are that it has a lot of "nuance" between each rating and you are better able to differentiate on skills that improve over time.

The cons of an 8-point scale are that there is too wide of a range and it is sometimes difficult to differentiate between what makes someone a 6 or a 7.

Example of another 8-point scale:

  1. Off-track

  2. Growth required

  3. Needs some development

  4. Making progress

  5. Good work

  6. Making an impact

  7. Clear strength

  8. Superstar

Custom Rating Scales

4-point or 6-point rating scales give enough of a range to show growth without being too granular. Odd-numbered scales allow the user to pick the middle number and remain “neutral”. Even-numbered scales force users to “pick a side.” 

Learn how to change your organization's rating scale here.

Other rating scale examples with numbers:

2-point scale

  1. Developing

  2. On-Track

3-point scale

  1. Needs Improvement

  2. Achieves Expectations

  3. Exceeds Expectations

4-point scale

  1. Needs Support

  2. Making Progress

  3. Performing as Expected

  4. Surpassing Expectations

5-point scale

  1. Has not achieved

  2. Growth required

  3. Good work

  4. You’re making an impact

  5. Sets the standard for brilliance

6-point scale

  1. Off-track

  2. Needs some development

  3. Getting there

  4. Good work

  5. Making an impact

  6. Superstar!

Other rating scale examples without numbers:

  • Improvement needed

  • Partly achieves

  • Achieves

  • Exceeds

  • Strongly exceeds

  • Not as expected

  • Area for improvement

  • As expected from the role and level of experience

  • Very good

  • Extraordinary

Did this answer your question?